Tags

, , , ,

San Diego Comicon is this weekend and already we have some great Batman announcements.  But this blog is about the current comics that came out Wednesday.  This week we have four books.  They are Batman #27, Nightwing #25, Batwoman #5, and Super Sons #6.

What happens when you push a good man too far?  In Batman #27 we get the first part of the origins of the villain Kiteman.  While this was a great story it is hard to take the ending seriously.  I don’t know if the intention was to make the ending as ridiculous as possible but the author succeeded in the part.

Can Nightwing keep his girlfriend after breaking her trust?  Find out in the end of Nightwing #25.  This is the ending of the blockbuster story arc in which Nightwing has to be a guinea pig for villains.  I have to say that this is a bit of a disappointing ending.  There is nothing here that we haven’t seen before in other Nightwing story lines and I really hoped that we could have seen something different.

We dive deeper into Batwoman’s past in Batwoman #5.  This is a story about an abusive, manipulative relationship.  This issue made me feel very uncomfortable as the story should.  Like I said before, I have never had firsthand experience with this kind of matter, so I can’t tell how realistic it felt.  What I can say is I think the comic invoked feelings that the author wanted me to feel.

Superboy learns whether or not he can join the Teen Titans in Super Sons #6.  Another hilarious issue that I can’t wait for the next part of the story.  There is very little I can complain about with this story line.  If I had to pick one complaint though it would be that we see the young super hero “has to go to bed” cliché too much. 

 

