Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello again internet.  We have another blog today.  We are reviewing six books today. They are Supergirl #11, Dark Days, The Casting #1, Detective Comics #916, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #12, Red Hood and the Outlaws #12, and Gotham Academy Second Semester #11. 

Can Batgirl and Supergirl escape the Phantom Zone in Supergirl #11.  This is going to be the last Supergirl comic I review until Batgirl returns to a Supergirl story.  As for the comic itself, I can’t tell you much because it is the final chapter in a story.  I can say that I was very satisfied with the ending and can’t wait to continue with Supergirl in the future.

What is Batman’s secret?  We learn this in Dark Days, The Casting #1.  This is the second prologue to next month’s Dark Nights Medal story.  What is interesting about this prologue is, while it leaves you with a lot of questions, you can almost piece together answers. I’m very excited for Dark Nights Medal and this prologue just turned my excitement level to 11.

When a member of Batman’s team goes crazy it is up to the rest of the team to defend themselves in Detective Comics #916.  This comic references events from Batman and Robin Eternal which I love that they haven’t forgotten about it. My only issue with this story is it seems a bit slow and I don’t know if this is intentional or not.  I hope the next story will have a better pace than this one.

Catwoman joins the Birds of Prey in Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #12.  This issue is completely a set-up for the rest of the current story and if you are not aware, I don’t really like set-up issues. The author didn’t even try to make this seem like anything other than a set-up.  I hope the rest of the story is written better than this.

The Red Hood and Artemis try to save Bizzaro’s life in Red Hood and the Outlaws #12. This could have been a great issue but instead it is just an OK issue.  The biggest problem was that the writer started the story on an emotional level and then it flat-lined.  This could have been a master-piece story and then it got dropped.

Maps and the gang break into Wayne Manor only to deal with Damion Wayne in Gotham Academy Second Semester #11. I was wrong to think that the series was getting terrible.  This is a good issue.  I enjoyed it, however I still think that the series needs to be put on hold for a while.  Next issue is the final issue and unlike last month, I have more hope that it will end well.

