Tags

, , , , , ,

Next week’s blog is the 100th “This Week in Gotham” blog.  However, this week we have our first ever Event Comic.  There are 6 books we are looking at today.  They are Supergirl #10, Dark Days: The Forge #1, Detective Comics #958, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #11, Red Hood and the Outlaws #11, and Gotham Academy Second Semester #10.

Batgirl and Supergirl have to escape from inter-dimentional pirates in Supergirl #10.  While I’m enjoying this story line this issue could have been written a lot better.  There were moments where I felt disconnected from the story.  I don’t know I would have improved this although I hope the next issue is better written.

Time is running out for Batman as the Justice League comes closer to finding out one of his biggest secrets in Dark Days: The Forge #1.  Batman learns that all magical items are made from the same metal.  I like this concept as it ties the magic side of DC and Super Hero side together.  This whole story line is inspired by Heavy Metal music.  The problem is that while I love Heavy Metal I don’t know enough about it to get every reference. 

When a friend of the Bat Family shows up bloody and bruised the Bat Family investigates in Detective Comics #958.  This comic is all set-up for future comics.  There are a lot questions and zero answers.  I hope that the whole story line does not follow this pattern because I couldn’t handle that.  There are some great concepts in the latter half of this issue but the biggest problem is that we don’t know enough about the center character to care about the story and I would love if this character gets some development.

The Birds of Prey learn Oracles secret in Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #11.  This is an issue that should have been two issues.  There is a lot going on that could have been spread out.  I enjoyed what was in there but I felt like this comic was rushed. 

The Red Hood has to stop a genocide from happening in Red Hood and the Outlaws #11.  This is the final battle of the current story arc so I am not going to tell you a lot of details.  I will say that I found this conclusion to be very satisfying and the ending leaves you with worry for a character.

Can Olivia snap out of her demonic possession in Gotham Academy Second Semester #10?  We have two issues left after this issue and I have to say I can’t wait for this comic to be over.  A lot of plot points in this issue I felt were rehashed from other issues.  I hope the last two issues can surprise me but at this point I am not holding my breath. 

  

