Tags

, , , , ,

It’s St. Patrick’s Day!  Do me a favour and have a drink for me as I can’t drink.  This week we have five books, Batman #19, All Star *Batman #8, Nightwing #17, Batwoman #1, and Super Sons #2.

Can the inmates of Arkham Asylum delay Bane enough that Batman can save Gotham Girl’s sanity in Batman #19?  While enjoyed this issue there is about a dozen things I would have liked if it was written differently.   This whole story arc feels awkward to me and I think it is because that the author is focusing more on Bane than on Batman.

Batman attacks the base of the Mad Hatter in All Star*Batman #8.  If you ever wanted to try acid, read this book instead!  The story is very enjoyable but the art makes you feel uncomfortable due to how utterly bizarre it is.  I’m pretty sure that the writer and artist intended for this effect but I’m not sure.

Nightwing and Robin go on the hunt for Nightwing’s girlfriend to rescue her in Nightwing #17.  I love this whole series and this issue just made me fall in love with it even more, however, there is one point in the story where I thought they could do a lot more character development for Robin. 

Ghost from Kate Kane’s past comes back to haunt her as she hunts down the remainder of the Monster Venom in Batwoman #1.  Before I say anything about the story I am so glad that the author brought back Julia Pennyworth, Alfred’s daughter.  She was a great addition to Batman Eternal and I’m so happy we can see the next part of her character arc.  As for the story itself, this is a great start to a new story.  We have mystery and action.  The one thing I’m going to complain about is that an aspect of her character was not being touched on is this issue and I don’t know how the writer can incorporate this aspect in the future without it feeling awkward. 

Super Boy and Robin get caught out late by Lex Luther in Super Sons #2.  This issue made me laugh because it reminded me of an episode of Pinky and the Brain.  I’m amazed at how well this team-up between Super Boy and Robin works.  Super Boy is trying to be the best son in the world while Robin is a total brat sometimes. 

 

