Tags

, , , , ,

 

This week I decided to count how many ongoing stories I’m involved with, I learned that there is about 20.  No wonder I forget minor details.  This week we have Detective Comics #948, All*Star Batman #6, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #6, Red Hood and the Outlaws #6, and Gotham Academy Second Semester #5. 

Batwoman deals with her past while dealing with the aftermath of Night of the Monster Man in Detective Comics #948.  This comic is set up to the Batwoman Comic next month.  I enjoyed this story a lot.  The title of this story is called Batwoman Begins but it does not focus much on her origin story at all so I don’t really understand the title.  If you are a Batwoman fan I suggest picking this up.

Batman hunts down Mr. Freeze in All*Star Batman #6.  This comic was weird.  It was written more like a picture book than a comic book.  I like the ideas behind this story but I’m a little hesitant about the format of this story.  This was a very similar problem with the comic adaptation for “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?”  I’m hoping that I will enjoy the rest of this story although the writer has messed up Mr. Freeze’s origin story in the past in my opinion.

Huntress has to deal with her mother who is now a villain in Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #6.  While I like this finale to the first story of this comic series, there were way too many clichés to count.  You had the “mother is a bad guy” cliché, “I’m not going to kill him” cliché, and the “I’m going to try to save you from yourself” cliché.  I just hope that in the future the writer of this comic refrains from using more than one cliché per issue.

Red Hood has to defeat Black Mask and save Bizzaro in Red Hood and the Outlaws #6.  There is not much character development in this story.  The only thing that this story is good for is an epic final battle between Red Hood and Black Mask.  I should be disappointed however we had a ton of character development in the previous issue so I am willing to forgive the writer this time. 

Olivia and friends try to prevent some one of their pals from being expelled in Gotham Academy Second Semester #5.  The problem with this issue is the fact that the person who is going to be expelled, I really don’t care about at all.  This is due to the fact that I barely know anything about him.  If I knew more about this person I would care a lot more but the author decided to pick the least developed character in the group.

    

