Tags

This is the last blog of the year. This week we have four books and three of them ends the current story arc that they are on. The four comics we are looking at are Detective Comics #947, Batman Beyond #3, All*Star Batman #5, and Batgirl #6. 

Batman and his team finally defeat the Victim Syndicate but loses one of their own in Detective Comics #947.  This issue made me a little mad although I could see the reason from far away.  It was a well written final chapter to this story arc but I felt like we had more questions than answers.  I’m hoping in future issues that we revisit some of the plot points that were left unfinished.

Terry McGuiness tries to break his girlfriend out of the clutches of the Joker Gang in Batman Beyond #3.  This story line get better and better.  I can’t stress enough how much I loved this issue.  The dialogue was perfect and I felt afraid when the characters were in danger.  I can’t wait to see how this story ends.  If you didn’t like the last Batman Beyond series, this one makes up for it in every way. 

Batman and Two Face finally reach their destination in All*Star Batman #5.  For the first time in this series I understand what the heck is going on.  I was going to give up on this comic but the writer dragged me back in.  If you can handle three issues of not knowing what is going on, then you will be rewarded.  However, I can’t blame you if you don’t want to take three issues waiting for the good stuff.

Finally Batgirl and Poison Ivy have to team up on a plane in Batgirl #6.  This team-up issue was very enjoyable to read however I do not believe that any plot points will be revisited.  The comic says it is an epilogue to the previous story but I found it had nothing to do with the previous story except the plane ride transitioning the stories. 

 

