Tags

This week we have a lot of ends of stories and setup to the end of stories. The issues we’re looking at are Batman #51, Batgirl #51, Grayson #19, We Are Robin #11, and Black Canary #11.

Batman #51 is the final issue that Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo are doing together. Since it’s the last issue it serves as a summary and an epilogue of all the issues they’ve done before. The problem I have with this story is they have set the plot backwards a bit kind of undoing some of the changes they imposed.  While I have problems with this issue I do think it serves as a good ending to a 50+ issue story arc and I can’t wait for what Batman brings in the future.

Next in Batgirl #51 we have much of the same feel as what they did in Batman #51, but they decided to spread it over two issues and add more original story. The reason I like this issue is due to the fact that it focuses more on the original content rather than summarizing the past issues. I’m going to assume that this issue takes place before the end of Batman and Robin Eternal due to the fact that a certain character is in the story.

Grayson #19 sets up the final battle for Dick Grayson as he tries to take down Spyral. The unfortunate part about this issue was the fact that it had way too many plot twists. For a 20 page book having four plot twists in the same story is too much. Although I do have to say this is a nice setup for the final battle.

The final chapter for We Are Joker is in We Are Robin #11. With it being the final chapter there is little I can say, but I can say that I enjoyed it. I really don’t have many complaints about this issue, it was well written and well-drawn.

And then there’s Black Canary #11. In my opinion whoever allowed this issue to be published should be smacked in the head. The story jumps around like a Mexican Jumping Bean, while yes it was one cohesive story it still tried its hardest to be weird. There’s nothing much else to say, I did not like it and can’t wait for this series to be over.    

